EXPLORE

COVID-19 Announcements
About Us
The Folk School Experience
Visitor Information
Support the Folk School
Folk School History
For Locals
Our Youth Programs
Craft Shop
Scholarships and Work Study
Mentorships and Residencies
Employment Opportunities
Contact Us
Request a Catalog
Gift Certificates

Sign up for our
Email Newsletter




Craft Shop

connect



Music and Dance Events
January 1, 2022 — December 31, 2022

Time:
Admission:

Location:  


Music and Dance Events for 2022

Upcoming Schedule

Tuesday, May 31: Community Tuesdays - JAM Kids Concert followed by square dance with host T-Claw calling figures

Friday, June 3: Concert - Mick Kinney & The Griddle Lickers, string band

Tuesday, June 7: Community Tuesdays - The Peachtree Fuzzies w/ caller, squares

Monday. June 13: Shape Note Singing School w/Stefani Priskos, Sacred Harp

Tuesday, June 14: Community Tuesdays - Get Up Rounder! w/ caller, contra

Friday, June 17: Concert - Rob Tiger & Lon Eldridge, songwriters/blues

Tuesday, June 21: Community Tuesdays - Emolyn Liden & Giddyup Buttercup, family dance

Friday, June 24: Concert - Emolyn Liden Family Band, fun family songs

Saturday, June 25: Community Dance - Bob Dalsemer & The Dog Branch Cats, 7-10 p.m.

Tuesday, June 28: Community Tuesdays - TBD Band w/ caller Becky Hill, squares

Friday, July 1: Concert - Blue Eyed Girl, old-time trio

Tuesday, July 5: Community Tuesdays

Saturday, July 9: Shape Note All-Day Singing, Sacred Harp & Christian Harmony

Tuesday, July 12: Community Tuesdays - Dance Musicians Week Band w/ caller Annie Fain

Thursday, July 14: Contra Dance - Open Band w/ caller *at The Crown in Brasstown. 7p Jam, 8p Dance

Friday, July 15: Concert - Dance Musician's Week Staff Band, songs & tunes

Saturday, July 16: Community Dance - DMW Staff Band w/ caller Andy Davis, 7-10 p.m.

Tuesday, July 19: Community Tuesdays - Channing Showalter & Annie Schermer w/ caller, old-time

Friday, July 22: Concert - West of Roan, multi-media puppetry & song

Monday, July 25: Shape Note Singing School w/Stefani Priskos, Sacred Harp, 7-9 p.m.

Tuesday, July 26: Community Tuesdays - The Peachtree Fuzzies w/ caller, old-time

Thursday, July 18: Concert - Sara Grey, ballads, banjos, British Isles to America

Tuesday, August 2: Community Tuesdays - A Beverly Smith Band w/ caller Annie Fain, old-time

Friday, August 5: Concert - Steve James, acoustic blues

Tuesday, August 9: Community Tuesdays - Betse Ellis & Clarke Wyatt w/ caller Becky Hill, squares

Thursday, August 11: Concert - Becky Hill, Betse Ellis, Clarke Wyatt & more, variety show

Tuesday, August 16: Community Tuesdays - A Lindsey Liden Band w/ caller Charlotte Crittenden, contra

Friday, August 19: Concert, Sheila Kay Adams & Susan Pepper, ballads, stories, & banjos

Monday, August 22: Shape Note Singing School w/Stefani Priskos, Sacred Harp, 7-9 p.m.

Tuesday, August 23: Community Tuesdays - Andrew Finn Magill, Scottish Ceilidh

Friday, August 26: Concert - Mack Samples & Friends, old-time

Saturday, August 27: Community Dance w/ Mack Samples, squares, 7-10 p.m.

We're delighted to announce a new series of Music and Dance events! These programs are an integral part of the Folk School experience, and we couldn't be more thrilled to welcome springtime with their return. We hope that you and your family will join us for concerts, variety shows, and short dances in a safe, outdoor environment. All are welcome at our outdoor events if they feel comfortable participating. Masks are recommended.

Click here for more information: Outdoor Concert and Dance Series Continues


January 2, 2022 — December 29, 2022

Time:
Admission:

Online
Location:  


Virtual Events and Classes

We're excited to share several virtual learning and entertainment opportunities.

________________________________________

Virtual Morningsong

Join us every Friday morning on Facebook Live for Virtual Morningsong. It's a great way to start the day! To watch live, all you have to do is visit our Facebook Page at 7:45 a.m. until 8:15 a.m. on Fridays.

Upcoming Schedule

Friday, June 17: Jeff Furman
Friday, June 24: Lorinda Jones & Susan Kraeszig

If you miss a Morningsong, or want to re-watch, view the recordings of each individual artist by visiting our blog here: Tune Into Virtual Morningsong Every Friday.
________________________________________

Online Classes with Lessonface


We're excited to offer virtual classes in a variety of subjects such as cooking, fiber arts, glass beadmaking, music, dance, painting, photography, woodworking and writing. Similar to our in-person classes, each month will include an online Orientation and Closing Ceremony Social so you can see your old pals, meet new friends, and view other class projects.

Our next round of classes will be announced soon!
________________________________________

HOME | FAQ


1-800.FOLK.SCH (365.5724)
828.837.2775 Contact us by email

John C. Campbell Folk School
One Folk School Road
Brasstown, NC 28902


Main Office Hours:
Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Craft Shop Hours:
Monday - Saturday, 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Thursday, 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.

John C. Campbell Folk School is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization.

Read our Privacy Policy
Read our Acceptance Policy

© John C. Campbell Folk School